the joy of POD books

Pen and watercolor illustrations for my next Blurb project.

The beauty of the software from the folks at Blurb is that you don’t have to know how to write code, or even have a background in layout design, to join in the immediate gratification of bookmaking. My experience with print production goes back to my early twenties, when I learned how to set type on keyboards that evolved into desktop publishing computers. Bottom line, I love typography and I love the process of assembling images and words into books. Eating Clean was my first formal bookmaking project, but that was in 2002, before the wide popularity of print-on-demand, not to mention digital book formats. There are no wholesale rates for the books made on Blurb, but if you’re not interested in the expense of inventory and relinquishing storage space to boxes of books-that-are-yet-unsold, the 1-by-1 pricing might just work for you. For now, that suits me just fine. I can keep playing and doing, which is where the joy in POD is for me.  Have you tried an online POD bookmaking service? Love to hear about it and hear your thoughts.

8 responses to “the joy of POD books

  1. I’m putting this website in my Favorites–another creative thing to play with when I retire. I loved the book you showed me last week. BTW, because you’re interested in typography, you might be interested in this book: Just My Type —

    It’s on my Amazon Wish List.

    Keep creating, my friend!
    ~ Fran

  2. POD makes sense in so many ways. Given the environmental damage we do by printing and pulping needless books, it’s really a no-brainer. I published my first novel like this back in 2008. I hope it works out well for you

  3. Thank you so much for leaving a comment on my blog londonchoirgirl. How did you get the word out about your novel after publishing it POD? Were you pleased with the results? Would love to hear more. …

  4. Does this mean the memoir is about to arrive?!!! I’ll DEFINITELY help get the word out!! Can you get onto Kindle or Nook?

  5. Love your creative heart!!! Great new illustrations

  6. Kathleen Gilday

    Love your illustrations!

  7. Lisa, looks like it could be fun. Thank you for the heads up.

  8. This sounds interesting;I’d love to know more about it.

    Ronnie

Leave a comment