From paper to fabric – it works!

First Spoonflower delivery

Since the package arrived on my doorstep last Friday afternoon, I’ve been fawning over my first Spoonflower fabric fat quarters like they’re my new babies and I just can’t get enough of them! The process from drawings, to digital scans (thank you, HP all-in-one), to real fabric, was remarkably easy and oh-so-gratifying. As I held these two pieces in my hand for the first time, I realized that there is something that occurs when one takes a flat design from paper to mutable fabric. I don’t know how to describe it, but for me it was a new dimension to the overall design process. And it is only after experiencing it for myself that I am better able to appreciate a challenge presented to the contestants on a recent Project Runway episode. It was obvious that as exciting as the opportunity to create their own fabric designs was, most of the designers did not complete a garment with their fabric that earned a thumbs-up from the judges.

No plans for my little fabric swatches yet – I’m still in the infatuation stage. Although I wouldn’t be surprised if I found a place for both of the designs in my upcoming Mod Mood Quilt, even though they are not solid-colored fabrics, like those used in Sherry Lynn Wood’s quilt. … Wishing you a creative week! 

P.S. I think I’ll have to send Spoonflower a Valentine this year!

2 responses to “From paper to fabric – it works!

  1. This is so cool! And much easier than buying a $1600 printer to print your own fabric at home. Can’t wait to see what you make with your fabric.

  2. Fantastic and amazing. I’ll have to try this some day, and I hope you will end up using prints in your mod mood quilt.

Leave a Reply

