New gig and a Knitalong

Early days

I was swept away with the knitalong excitement over on the Spud & Chloe blog and just had to join in the fun. But first I had to wait for my yummy watermelon yarn to come in the mail. Then there was the obligatory but somewhat tedious gauge swatch. So glad I took the time for the swatches, as I had to drop down two needle size stitches from the size #7 needles  being used by our fearless knitalong leader, Susan B. Anderson. The lady at a local yarn store told me that if you knit Continental style, as I do, your gauge will be looser. Good to know. Note to self: always do a gauge first. Even if it delays new-project gratification. Worth the wait.

Meanwhile, there’s been a lot of career excitement around here. Within a few short weeks of graduating with my MFA, I was interviewing for an adjunct position at my new alma mater.

Hired!

 

8 responses to “New gig and a Knitalong

  1. I totally know the frustrating feeling of having to test gauge when all you when to do is start your new and exciting project. I have learned that the hard way. Good luck!

  2. Wow. I would like to be able to knit well enough to need to bother with a test gauge! LOL I’m so bad at it that I’ll bet kindergardeners would snicker! Anyway, I loved the color of your yarn and I’m certain as always you’ll do something fabulous with it. Congrats on the cool job interview. Fingers crossed!!

  3. Wow! Congratulations on the new job. I always have to go down at least two needles sizes. Must be we are very relaxed people.

  4. Pingback: How I found my way to slow crafting | Dream Big, Live Large, my artful life

  5. Pingback: Knitting as Meditation and a Vision Board Surprise | Dream Big, Live Large, my artful life

Leave a Reply

